Leadership Awards

The Leadership Awards celebrate iconic individuals for their vision, accomplishments, and contributions to the industry. These honorees are role models, mentors, risk-takers, and agents of change. 

G.D. Crain Jr. Award

The G.D. Crain Award (learn more)

The G.D. Crain, Jr. Award is given annually to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the development of editorial excellence in business media. The award was established by a grant from the G.D. Crain, Jr., Foundation and includes a distinctive  trophy and a check for $1,000.

Timothy White Award

Timothy White Award (learn more)

The Timothy White Award recognizes exemplary leadership in the face of challenges and pressures that editors face daily. It is given to an editor whose work displays extraordinary courage, integrity, and passion. This award is named after the longtime editor of Billboard who served as the moral compass of the music industry by tackling controversial issues before he passed away in 2002.

The Marianne Dekker Mattera Mentor Award (learn more)

The Marianne Dekker Mattera Mentor Award honors the long-time Chief Editor of RN Magazine and Medical Economics and Managing Editor of MedPage Today. In the course of her more than 40-year career in business media, Marianne was a mentor to editors of all ages, won 18 Jesse H. Neal Awards, more than any other individual editor in B2B media. In 1997, she received SIIA's G. D. Crain Jr. Award for lifetime achievement in B2B journalism.

Donald McAllister, Sr.

The McAllister Editorial Fellowship (learn more)

The McAllister Editorial Fellowship and the McAllister Top Management Fellowship are awarded annually to an editor and an executive, respectively. These fellowships promote the study of business media, with McAllister Fellows acting as teachers and advisors for approximately one week on the Medill Magazine Project at Northwestern University's Medill School of Journalism. McAllister Fellows receive a crystal bowl and an honorarium.