About the Neal Awards

The Jesse H. Neal Awards are the most prestigious editorial honors in the field of specialized journalism. Named after Jesse H. Neal, the first managing director of American Business Media (ABM), the Neal Awards were established in 1955 to recognize and reward editorial excellence in business media. Award-winning content reports on major industry issues of the time. Neal winners have exposed corruption and conflicts of interest and brought attention to major new trends, brilliant leadership, innovative tactics, and key developments in global businesses.

The Jesse H. Neal Awards have never been as relevant or consequential as they are today. There is a demand for quality business content rising higher.

And the fact is, you’re doing incredible work. Every day, you’ve challenged your audiences to think critically about their businesses, and inspired them to grow and innovate. You’ve engaged deeply with social issues and their implications for your markets. Your visual design and digital production have grown more sophisticated.    

By nominating your work for a Neal Award you are making the case, to your company and to the communities you serve, that it's worth investing in.

2021 Neal Awards Timeline

JAN 5- MAR 7

Early Nominations

January 5 – 31, 2021

Regular Nominations

February 1 – 21, 2021

Extended Nomination Period

February 22 – March 7, 2021

MAR 17 - APR 30

First Round Judging

March 17 – April 2, 2021

Second Round Judging

April 12 – 16, 2021 
(live via zoom April 16)

Third Round Judging

April 26 – 30, 2021
(live via zoom April 29 & 30)

MAY 10 - JUN 9

Finalists Announced

May 10, 2021

Neal Awards Virtual Ceremony

June 9, 2021